ADMINISTRATION OF THE **UNIVERSITY**

The general governance of Wayne State University is constitutionally vested in the Board of Governors, consisting of eight popularly elected members and the President of the University, who is named by the elected members. The president is the chief executive officer of the university and is charged by the Board of Governors with responsibility for its administration. For educational and administrative purposes, the university is organized into major academic units - schools, colleges, divisions, centers and institutes. The following schools, colleges and divisions constitute the heart of the University:

Mike Ilitch School of Business College of Education College of Engineering College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts Irvin D. Reid Honors College **Graduate School** Law School College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

School of Information Sciences

School of Medicine

College of Nursing

Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences School of Social Work

The dean of the college or school is its chief executive officer. More than half the colleges and schools are organized into departments or divisions, each administered by a chairperson (or assistant dean). Academic standards, curricular development, course revision and similar academic matters are the primary responsibility of the faculty and dean of the college or school, although these matters are subject to review and approval by the Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and by the President of the University. Major educational policy decisions are also subject to review by the Academic Senate.

The Graduate School is the central unit for the supervision and encouragement of graduate work in the university and has basic responsibility for the improvement and review of existing programs and the approval of new graduate programs. Except for applicants and candidates for the Doctor of Philosophy degree, the detailed supervision of graduate students' work is conducted by the college and school and, where appropriate, by the departments.

All degrees are granted by the university through the colleges and schools, except that the Dean of the Graduate School, with the approval of the Graduate Council, recommends candidates for the Doctor of Philosophy degree.

Board of Governors

BRYAN C. BARNHILL, II MICHAEL BUSUITO MARK GAFFNEY MARILYN KELLY, Chair ANIL KUMAR TERRI LYNN LAND SHIRLEY STANCATO DANA THOMPSON

KIMBERLY ANDREWS ESPY, ex officio

University Leadership

KIMBERLY ANDREWS ESPY, Ph.D., President of the University LAURIE LAUZON CLABO, Ph.D., Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Academics and Research

ALI ABOLMAALI, Ph.D., Dean of the College of Engineering BORIS BALTES, Ph.D., Associate Provost Faculty Affairs and Associate Vice President of Academic Personnel

DENISE TALIAFERRO BASZILE, Ph.D., Dean of the College of Education RICHARD BIERSCHBACH, J.D., Dean of the Law School

PAUL BRACKE, Ph.D., Dean of the University Libraries and the School of Information Sciences

AMANDA BRYANT-FRIEDRICH, Ph.D., Dean of the Graduate School JOHN CORVINO, Ph.D., Dean of the Irvin D. Reid Honors College HASAN ELAHI, M.F.A., Dean of the College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts

R. DARIN ELLIS, Ph.D., Associate Provost for Academic Programs and Associate Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness

AHMAD EZZEDDINE, Ph.D., Vice President for Academic Student Affairs and Global Engagement

STEPHANIE HARTWELL, Ph.D., Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

VIRGINA KLEIST, Ph.D., Dean of the Mike Ilitch School of Business SHERYL KUBIAK, Ph.D., Dean of the School of Social Work EZEMENARI OBASI, Ph.D., Vice President for Research DONYALE R. PADGETT, Ph.D., Interim Associate Provost for Diversity and

Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer

ROB THOMPSON, Chief Information Officer and Associate Vice President for Computing and Information Technology

Health

RAMONA BENKERT, Ph.D., Dean of the College of Nursing BRIAN CUMMINGS, Ph.D., Dean of the Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

WAEL SAKR, M.D., Dean of the School of Medicine MARK SCHWEITZER, M.D., Vice President of Health Affairs

Business Operations

ROBERT DAVENPORT, Associate Vice President for Facilities Planning and Management

BETHANY GIELCZYK, M.P.P., Interim Senior Vice President for Business Affairs: Senior Associate Vice President for Finance and Business: Chief Financial Officer

CAROLYN P. HAFNER, B.B.A., Associate Vice President & Chief Human Resources Officer

Engagement and Advocacy

PATRICK O. LINDSEY, M.A., Vice President for Government and Community Affairs

DAVID RIPPLE, M.A., Vice President for Development and Alumni Affairs MELISSA SMILEY, Ph.D., Chief of Staff and University Relations Officer EDWARD (NED) STAEBLER, M.S., Vice President for Economic Development.

ERIKA WALLACE, M.P.A., Director of Athletics

University Governance

JULIE MILLER, M.A., University Secretary and Executive Officer to the **Board of Governors**

MIKE POTERALA, J.D., Vice President and General Counsel